InWorldz

Where your Dreams are our Vision!

It is currently Sat Jul 21, 2018 11:07 am | All times are UTC - 6 hours
 Page 1 of 1 [ 9 posts ] 
Author Message
 Post subject: help with gamma - updated and solved
PostPosted: Tue Nov 10, 2015 3:56 pm 
User avatar

Joined: Wed Dec 31, 1969 6:00 pm
Posts: 957
ok so I was in the IW3 Beta, and I was playing around with something in preferences (I'm pretty sure it was in preferences) and there was something to click to increase your screen gamma. Well IW always seems a little dark to me, so I happily increased it one tick. Then I logged off and back in, then I went into paintshop (it was already open before all this) to finish a texture I was making. BRIGHT. Everything on my computer is like BRIGHT. This forum, my software, my web browser - HELP! It burns! It burns! I have searched and searched, please tell me where I found that so I can unchange it!


Last edited by SophiaLarkspur on Thu Nov 12, 2015 8:29 am, edited 1 time in total.


_________________
visit me on the Marketplace! https://iniw.net/marketplace/#/search/o ... 30/pp/1-60

or InWorld at: http://places.inworldz.com/Mercury/202/105/2254
Offline
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: help with gamma
PostPosted: Tue Nov 10, 2015 7:31 pm 
User avatar

Joined: Thu Sep 09, 2010 2:22 pm
Posts: 1755
Location: Pacific NW
I would look in graphics card settings, name of which will vary depending which one. Mine (Nvidia Control Panel) is in my Windows (7) Control Panel - appearance & personalization.

Once in your graphics settings, there should be something about the gamma. Mine is in "Video - Adjust Video Color Settings"

[edited to add - Nvidia also seems to allow me to use other settings for gamma rather than its own, which is what it seems I have done. Might have to hunt around more but it should be labeled something like above]



_________________
One could write a history of science in reverse by assembling the solemn pronouncements of highest authority about what could not be done and could never happen. ~ Robert A. Heinlein
Offline
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: help with gamma
PostPosted: Wed Nov 11, 2015 3:15 am 
User avatar

Joined: Wed Dec 31, 1969 6:00 pm
Posts: 957
Thank you! I did find it in my video card, and fixed it. I had no idea that changing it in my preferences would change my whole computer, I will tread more carefully in the future :D



_________________
visit me on the Marketplace! https://iniw.net/marketplace/#/search/o ... 30/pp/1-60

or InWorld at: http://places.inworldz.com/Mercury/202/105/2254
Offline
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: help with gamma
PostPosted: Wed Nov 11, 2015 10:47 am 
User avatar

Joined: Fri Aug 24, 2012 6:58 am
Posts: 2192
Quote:
I did find it in my video card, and fixed it. I had no idea that changing it in my preferences would change my whole computer
... it shouldn't ...so I would consider this "absolutely" a bug that needs uber-squashing.

Because of my eyesight issues I have already adjusted the gamma settings on my hard drive to a (more) comfortable level .. if the viewer is changing those settings (rather than just changing the environment to adjust what you already have so the world looks right to you) that's a problem.



_________________
~aka~ Claret LaKhabary @ Imzadi Basin, Arborea, InWorldz

The Almighty tells me he can get me out of this mess, but he's pretty sure you're sporked.
Offline
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: help with gamma
PostPosted: Wed Nov 11, 2015 2:56 pm 
User avatar

Joined: Wed Dec 31, 1969 6:00 pm
Posts: 957
LaryaBlackheart wrote:
Quote:
I did find it in my video card, and fixed it. I had no idea that changing it in my preferences would change my whole computer
... it shouldn't ...so I would consider this "absolutely" a bug that needs uber-squashing.

Because of my eyesight issues I have already adjusted the gamma settings on my hard drive to a (more) comfortable level .. if the viewer is changing those settings (rather than just changing the environment to adjust what you already have so the world looks right to you) that's a problem.


After I fixed it on my vid card, all was well, until I logged back into IW. Suddenly, my computer gamma was up again. I went back to my vid card, fixed it again. I haven't yet logged into IW but I'm sure it will happen again.

This always happens...I change something, and then cannot find it again to change it back. I found it to change it!! I went thru preferences several times, but can't find it again. This time I will write it down when I find it :D



_________________
visit me on the Marketplace! https://iniw.net/marketplace/#/search/o ... 30/pp/1-60

or InWorld at: http://places.inworldz.com/Mercury/202/105/2254
Offline
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: help with gamma
PostPosted: Wed Nov 11, 2015 3:19 pm 
User avatar

Joined: Fri Aug 24, 2012 6:58 am
Posts: 2192
I will search the mantis to see if this has already been reported. I'm hesitant to add it myself as I can't really recount the symptoms as accurately as someone it's happened to already (and reluctant to try to reproduce on my machine in case it goes all wonky on my end).

With my gamma and contrast already "fine tuned" (for me - age related light receptor failure - my hardware is wearing out :geek: ) to keep my desktop from being dingy and depressing (not to mention unreadable) ... well ... we don't say those words in polite society (the ones I would likely expectorate if my computer followed suit).

ETA: This discovery, while potentially "rare" in occurrence also appears to be a possible "show stopper" for anyone needing to adjust the settings within the viewer environment. I reported it on the mantis (assigned issue number 3133)

A link-back address to this thread was added to the report & reference to the reporting forum user name was included.

~ aka CLARET



_________________
~aka~ Claret LaKhabary @ Imzadi Basin, Arborea, InWorldz

The Almighty tells me he can get me out of this mess, but he's pretty sure you're sporked.
Offline
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: help with gamma
PostPosted: Wed Nov 11, 2015 6:28 pm 
User avatar

Joined: Thu Sep 09, 2010 2:22 pm
Posts: 1755
Location: Pacific NW
In IW2 it's graphics preferences, hardware tab, I think.



_________________
One could write a history of science in reverse by assembling the solemn pronouncements of highest authority about what could not be done and could never happen. ~ Robert A. Heinlein
Offline
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: help with gamma
PostPosted: Wed Nov 11, 2015 7:35 pm 
User avatar

Joined: Wed Dec 31, 1969 6:00 pm
Posts: 957
ya know...it might have been on the IW2 viewer (I'm transitioning lol)! Logging into IW this evening did change my vid card again, I'm getting pretty good at that fix now :doh:



_________________
visit me on the Marketplace! https://iniw.net/marketplace/#/search/o ... 30/pp/1-60

or InWorld at: http://places.inworldz.com/Mercury/202/105/2254
Offline
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: help with gamma
PostPosted: Thu Nov 12, 2015 8:26 am 
User avatar

Joined: Wed Dec 31, 1969 6:00 pm
Posts: 957
Found it! I restored default graphics on V3 (clicked 'reset' button) and that fixed the problem on my computer as well. I also found the place that I made the change in the first place. Interestingly, the button that says 'gamma' is greyed out, but the number is still adjustable. So the problem is, if you make an adjustment here, it doesn't just change your viewer, it also changes your system vid card.

Preferences>Graphics>General>Hardware


Attachments:
prefs.jpg
prefs.jpg [ 92.81 KiB | Viewed 2881 times ]

_________________
visit me on the Marketplace! https://iniw.net/marketplace/#/search/o ... 30/pp/1-60

or InWorld at: http://places.inworldz.com/Mercury/202/105/2254
Offline
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
 Page 1 of 1 [ 9 posts ] 


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  

Site Navigation